FacebookPixel

Aquamid ™ Reviews

3 star rating

3 out of 5 stars

From 8 reviews

Add Your Review

You need to be signed in to our community to leave a review for Abdominoplasty (Tummy Tuck).

Add Your Review


We will use your Community details when filling out the Review form, if any of the details are incorrect please update them by clicking on the 'Your Account' link on the top menu.

*Your Review

Reviews | Ordered by most recent added

Order By | Most Helpful | Most Recent | Oldest

Mrs D Thwaites
In Bournemouth

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

25th May 2015


I first had this product 12 years ago. It is totally brilliant ! I am just having to have it ''topped up'' now. I would say it needs a very experienced practitioner.


5 star rating

Recommended 

Recommended

Rosy V
In Australia

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

22nd August 2014


Aquamid is the biggest mistake I have ever made and I will regret the decision for life . For anyone contemplating the use of this material don`t . If any doctor suggests using the product, walk out of the surgery and don`t look back. He is not there for your welfare. Any substance that cannot be removed or dissolved should be banned. Surgery doesn`t count.


1 star rating

Not Recommended 

Not Recommended

Dawn Lawson
In Sydney

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

17th December 2012


I had Aquamid injected into my top lip 5 years ago. Within 24 hours it flared up to the point where the skin was so stretched it began to tear and I was put on several medications, including antibiotics, to counteract it. For no apparent reason it flared up again 7 months later (only on one side of my lip - making me look hugely deformed) before seeping / squirting pus. It was the most revolting thing I have ever seen in my life!! I have had a hard round lump on the left side of my lip ever since. It`s unsightly and painful when knocked - I have to be careful how I use my utensils when eating. Cosmetic nurses/doctors refuse to treat any area on my lower face because of it and I have to have it removed surgically - finding a surgeon prepared / confident to go at it is difficult. I would never in a million years recommend this product. If it works, great, but if you do have a side effect (sooner or later) it tends to be massive - check out google images... My advice would be to stick with the `temporary` fillers, which I`ve never had a problem with :)


1 star rating

Not Recommended 

Not Recommended

Walt Diggins

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

4th August 2012


Not a review, but a question for the "appearance medicine" (huh?) doctor below. I''ve never had treatmet but couldn''t post a comment without rating it so I did so based on what I''ve read. Please ignore it. Anyway, you claim that the second adverse reaction you describe was caused by an infected injection - is it really fair therefore to blame Aquamid for this?


4 star rating

Recommended 

Recommended

Kate McGrath
In Sydney

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

31st August 2011


I had Aquamid injected under a skin cancer scar to restore the volume and reduce the appearance and it has worked beautifully. Since then, I''''ve had the same treatment in my upper lip. No side effects, however, I chose a doctor who has experience in the procedure and uses a sterile technique, and a good track-record with this treatment. So I''''ve had Aquamid in my skin since 2001 with a great result and without any problems at all. In my opinion if you choose a reputable and experienced practitioner and follw their advice, it''''s a great choice for people who want a long-term result.


5 star rating

Recommended 

Recommended

Caroline Nixon
In Sydney

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

31st August 2011


This is a fantastic prodcut used by a very experienced and trained Doctor ONLY
The long term results are great value for consumers


5 star rating

Recommended 

Recommended

Dr. Paul Robert Weaver
In Napier, New Zealand

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

13th May 2011


I am an experienced appearance medicine doctor in New Zealand. Unfortunately I have had serious complications in two of my patients with this permanent dermal filler and would caution both doctors and patients about the use of permanent dermal fillers in general. Today I have sent a report to the New Zealand Centre for Adverse Reactions Monitoring (CARM) about a patient I injected with Aquamid back in 2002 who has had a granulomatous reaction to the filler leaving her with hard, inflammed lumps in the facial skin. Previously I have had a patient with awful scars to the vermillion borders of the lips following an infected aquamid injection that required plastic surgical correction. I no longer reccommend permanent fillers to my patients.


1 star rating

Not Recommended 

Not Recommended

Bella Smith
In Manchester

Helpful Vote Helpful?

0 helpful votes.

20th March 2011


Aquamid is a great product. I am very happy with the results. I had it done on my cheek bones and nose to mouth lines.I cannot feel it under the skin. I had it done 3 years ago I would say I still have 90% volume where I had the treatment.I have saved a fortune on follow up procedures too : )


5 star rating

Recommended 

Recommended

Please note that all reviews are the views of the author alone, and do not reflect the opinions of any advisors to the Consulting Room, or Consulting Room staff and Directors (unless specifically written by them). Reviews may be both positive or negative. Please ensure that your review is in relation to the specific treatment or procedure detailed. Do not type solely in capital letters or use profanity of any kind. The chosen language of this website is English, please do not leave comments in other languages. Do not use this review section for spamming, derogatory remarks or personal attacks, or in an attempt to incite an argument through deliberately including provocative or controversial statements. All reviews posted are checked by our moderators and any found to be in breach of this etiquette will be removed without exception or notification. Persistent offenders will have their accounts suspended.